Colville WA Government

Dedicated civil servants entrusted to maintain the highest standards, uphold the law and enrich the lives of citizens govern Colville. The city’s government and services are second to none when it comes to providing leadership and commitment to the future. A Mayor-Council form of government, with a seven-person City Council, administers a modern city of more than 5,000 residents. The Council is committed to improvements through continual progress, including street, sidewalk and infrastructure.

The Colville Police Department is comprised of 14 full-time employees and nine volunteer staff members within three divisions—Operation, Investigations and Administration. The department provides a host of public safety services designed around protecting those living in the city and their property. Some of these services include crime prevention and suppression, traffic safety, property security, animal control and parking control.

The Colville Fire Department consists of 32 trained volunteer firefighters who are constantly trained and are proficient in many emergency response specialties. The department offers fire protection and educational services, plus additional emergency inquiries.

Holding the public’s trust in highest esteem, these local officials provide first-rate service and professional security to Colville, making it an ideal place to live, work and raise a family.

The Colville Recreation Department provides a comprehensive, year round program of recreational activities and special events. They are responsible for implementing and overseeing all city-sponsored recreation programs such as soccer, baseball, the Tiger Triathlon and the city’s swimming pool. The Colville Parks Department is responsible for the maintenance of soccer fields, seven parks, six ball fields and additional public areas.

The city provides potable water and wastewater services to the area. Garbage collection services are provided by Sunshine Disposal, and recycling is through Stevens County.

Natural gas and electric service is provided to the community by Avista. Quest is the telephone service supplier, and cable television is offered through Charter Communications.

About Stevens County

Located in the historic Stevens County Courthouse (Colville is the seat of Stevens County), an elected three-person commission administers Stevens County, formed in 1863. Other elected officials include the County Clerk, Treasurer, Assessor, Auditor, Prosecutor, Sheriff and Coroner. They oversee a wide range of county duties including the NE WA Fairgrounds, public works, weed board, ambulance, 911 services, planning, counseling center, GIS and land services, to name a few.

The Spokane Tribal lands are located along the Spokane River at the confluence of the Columbia River. The Tribe’s offices are located in Wellpinit, Washington.

  • County Size: 2,481.2 Square Miles—just a bit smaller than Delaware
  • Stevens County’s Population: 42,000
    The Spokane Tribe occupies 237.5 square miles of Stevens County. According to the 2000 Census, Tract Number 9510 has a population of 2,004. Of the 2,004 persons, 76.5% claim to be American Indian and/or Alaska Native race.
  • Largest City: Colville
  • Colville’s Population: 5,000
  • Congressional District: 5th
  • Voter Precincts: 53
  • Legislative District: 7th
  • Registered Voters in Stevens County: 27,985
  • Economy: Timber, agriculture, mining, manufacturing, government services, recreation and tourism
  • Recreation Areas: 49 Degrees North Ski Area, Colville National Forest, Dominion Meadows Golf Course, Chewelah, Golf Course, Lake Roosevelt National Recreational Area, Little Pend Oreille National Wildlife Refuge