Fort Myers is governed by a council-strong mayor. The council members are elected by registered voters in their ward and serve for a term of four years. Citizens can participate in city government by attending City Council meetings and public hearings and serving on an array of committees and boards.

The Fort Myers Police Department totals over 200 employees including officers. With five stations, more than 80 patrol units, community policing and police auxiliary (volunteer officers) residents of this city can feel safe. The police department offers programs like The Citizen Police Academy, which gives residents the opportunity to experience police work firsthand. There are also programs for children, including D.A.R.E. and G.R.E.A.T.

Since its start in 1901, the Fort Myers Fire Department has made its level of service top priority and, because of its high standards, has become a Regional Training Center for the State of Florida Fire Marshal’s Office. The Fire Department, a full-service department known as Fire/Rescue, boasts an excellent hazardous material response team. The Fire/Rescue employs 88 fire-fighting and emergency personnel including one Fire Marshal and three Fire Safety Inspectors. The Fire Department also provides informative programs for children.