Share this Page

Monroe County residents are fortunate to experience strong leadership in local government, offering quality services and programs designed for the betterment of the community-at-large. The county is overseen by an elected five-member county commission. In addition to this governing body, Monroe County has five incorporated municipalities governed by individual mayors and councils. These incorporated municipalities include Beatrice, Excel, Frisco City, Monroeville and Vredenburgh. Monroeville, Monroe County’s largest municipality, stands as the county seat.

In addition, Monroe County is well represented in state and federal government. For a complete list of city, county and state officials, please visit the chamber website or call the chamber office.


Monroeville | 6,072
Monroe County | 21,327

Source: U.S. Census Quick Facts

Land Area

Monroeville | 13.37 square miles
Monroe County | 1025.68 square miles


January’s average low | 37 degrees F
July’s average high | 91 degrees F
Average annual rainfall | 57 inches
Elevation | 425 feet above sea level

Source: Sperling’s Best Places


Median Household Income (Monroe County)
2018 | $32,429

Per Capita Income (Monroe County)
2018 Estimate | $15,704

Source: U.S. Census Quick Facts

Estimated Median House Value 2018

Monroeville County | $87,700
Monroeville | $105,800
Alabama | $136,200


Sales Tax Rates

Monroeville | 2.5%
Monroe County | 2.5%
State of Alabama | 4.0%

Distances from Major Cities
Mobile, AL | 85 miles
Birmingham, AL | 162 miles
New Orleans, LA | 231 miles
Atlanta, GA | 261 miles

Nearest Commercial Airports

Mobile & Montgomery, AL; Pensacola, FL

Additional information is available at