Chamber of Commerce

On behalf the Monroeville/Monroe County Chamber of Commerce, welcome! We are proud to present information on our members in these pages.

Monroeville is one of Alabama’s great small towns, and we are proud to be known as the “Literary Capital of Alabama.” Entrepreneurs are welcome to pursue opportunities — you will find information on many of our small businesses in these pages. Chances are, if you need a service or if you need a specific item, we have a member who can fulfill your request. Please do business with our Chamber members — they are many and varied!

We are proud of our historic downtown and Main Street community. As we look forward, we are also pleased with the many businesses that have opened in our area which contribute greatly to the health of our economy. We have welcomed a new Literary Capital Sculpture Trail to our downtown and the newly formed Monroe Council for the Arts. We are delighted the Mockingbird Company continues to host the annual spring production of To Kill a Mockingbird. We invite you to visit our stores, dine in our restaurants and let us know how we may serve you. Also, please check out our Calendar of Events on our website; it offers a variety of activities throughout the year.

Please stop by our office for information on Monroe County. The chamber is housed in a restored 1925 bank building; the Chamber was established in Monroeville in 1928. The Chamber of Commerce board of directors represents a diverse group of international corporations, small businesses, civic organizations and financial institutions. The Chamber board is pleased to invite visitors to “visit, enjoy, relax, renew and relocate” to Monroe County!

Thank you for being a part of our town. If you are visiting, please consider returning often — or even permanently!

Warmest regards,

Penelope Hines
Executive Director
Monroeville/Monroe County Chamber of Commerce


For more information on Monroeville/Monroe County, please visit the following websites:

Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors

Ricky Powell  |  President
Hayes Peace  |  Vice President
Rhonda Chandler  |  Treasurer
Debbi Jinright  |  Immediate Past President

Stephanie Cobb
Noel Dunnam
Mark Jefcoat
Marcia Killian
Cynthia Martens-Lamont
Kay Lett
Sloan Poppell
Billy Rainey

Chamber Staff
Penelope Hines  |  Executive Director
Logan Owens  |  Office Manager