Starr County in the Rio Grande Valley

Starr County

Starr County stands as one of four counties comprising the Rio Grande Valley, joining Willacy, Hidalgo and Cameron counties. The county, which stretches over 1,229 miles in the far northwest corner of the Valley, is home to approximately 61,000 residents. Rio Grande City, the county seat, is the largest city within the county, followed by Roma, La Grulla and Escobares.

Named for James Harper Starr—Secretary of Treasury of the Republic of Texas—Starr County features two historic districts in Rio Grande City and Roma as well as the Roma Bluffs World Birding Center and the beautiful Falcon State Park, an unmatched outdoor destination. The area also hosts several much-anticipated community events, including the Starr County Fair and the Fourth of July Parade & Festival.

For additional information, visit the Starr County website at