Share this Page

Batavia is governed by the mayor, who is elected by the entire community; and the city council, a group of dedicated alderman and women elected from wards throughout the city. All are part-time positions. The council establishes policies for the growth, development and overall quality of life in Batavia.

A full-time city administrator implements those policies through the roughly 200 full- and part-time city employees. The City of Batavia has been chosen as one of the top 100 places to live by CNN Money Magazine based on “economic strength, job growth, affordability, good schools, diversity, health care and a strong sense of community.”

For more information, visit


Utility Billing & Payment Questions
(630) 454-2020

Community Development & Engineering

Code Compliance
(630) 454-2705

Building and Inspection
(630) 454-2700

Community Development
(630) 454-2700

(630) 454-2750

Public Works

Electric/Street Lights
(630) 454-2350

Streets/Storm Sewer/Cemetery/Refuse
(630) 454-2400

Water/Sanitary Sewer
(630) 454-2450

Waste Water Treatment
(630) 454-2320


Fire and Police


Fire Department
(630) 454-2100

Police Department/Event Planning
(630) 454-2500

Emergency Services & Disaster Agency (ESDA)
(630) 454-2200

For departments or services not listed, call the main switchboard, (630) 454-2000, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.


Jeffery D. Schielke
Mayor’s Office: (630) 454-2000

City Clerk
Ellen Posledni

City Administrator
Laura Newman
(630) 454-2060

City Attorney
Kevin Drendel
(630) 406-5440


Ward 1
Scott Salvati

Michael F. O’Brien

Ward 2
Alan P. Wolff

Martin J. Callahan

Ward 3
Dan Chanzit

Elliot Meitzler

Ward 4
Susan Stark

Anthony Malay

Ward 5
Lucy Thelin-Atac

Mark Uher

Ward 6
Michael Russotto

Nicholas P. Cerone

Ward 7
David J. Brown

Drew McFadden

Batavia Township
131 Flinn Dr., Ste. B, Batavia
(630) 879-1392
Hours: 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., Monday through Friday

James R. Anderson

Howard R. Katz

TammyJ. Kavanaugh
Assessor’s Office: (630) 879-1323
(8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday- Friday)

Highway Commissioner
Christopher R. Long
Information: (630) 879-5515
(6:30 a.m. to 3 p.m., Monday-Friday)

General Assistance Case Worker
Layla Brown
Office: (630) 879-1392
(8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday-Thursday)

Township Trustees
Vicki Mitchell, Brian Singer, Leigh Tracy, John West, Walter Donat

(630) 232-3600
400 Wheeler Dr., Geneva

State Government

Illinois State Representatives
Karina Villa
49th District Office

Keith Wheeler
50th District Office
959 Oak St.
North Aurora, IL 60542
(630) 345-3464

Illinois State Senator
Jim Oberweiss
25th District Office
959 Oak St.
North Aurora, IL 60542
(630) 800-1992

Illinois Congressperson
Lauren Underwood
14th Congressional District