Government

Share this Page


Batavia is governed by the mayor, who is elected by the entire community; and the city council, a group of dedicated alderman and women elected from wards throughout the city. All are part-time positions. The council establishes policies for the growth, development and overall quality of life in Batavia.

A full-time city administrator implements those policies through the roughly 200 full- and part-time city employees. The City of Batavia has been chosen as one of the top 100 places to live by CNN Money Magazine based on “economic strength, job growth, affordability, good schools, diversity, health care and a strong sense of community.”

For more information visit www.CityofBatavia.net.

CITY HALL DEPARTMENTS

Utility Billing & Payment Questions
(630) 454-2020

Community Development & Engineering

Code Compliance
(630) 454-2705

Building and Inspection
(630) 454-2700

Community Development
(630) 454-2700

Engineering
(630) 454-2750

Public Works

Electric/Street Lights
(630) 454-2350

Streets/Storm Sewer/Cemetery/Refuse
(630) 454-2400

Water/Sanitary Sewer
(630) 454-2450

Waste Water Treatment
(630) 454-2320

Emergency

Fire and Police
911

Non-emergency

Fire Department
(630) 454-2100

Police Department/Event Planning
(630) 454-2500

Emergency Services & Disaster Agency (ESDA)
(630) 454-2200

For departments or services not listed, call the main switchboard, (630) 454-2000, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Administration

Mayor
Jeffery D. Schielke
mayor@cityofbatavia.net
Mayor’s Office: (630) 454-2000

City Clerk
Ellen Posledni
eposledni@cityofbatavia.net

City Administrator
Laura Newman
(630) 454-2060
lnewman@cityofbatavia.net

City Attorney
Kevin Drendel
kgd@batavialaw.com
(630) 406-5440

Aldermen

Ward 1
Scott Salvati
ssalvati@cityofbatavia.net

Michael F. O’Brien
mobrien@cityofbatavia.net

Ward 2
Alan P. Wolff
awolff@cityofbatavia.net

Martin J. Callahan
mcallahan@cityofbatavia.net

Ward 3
Dan Chanzit
dchanzit@cityofbatavia.net

Elliot Meitzler
emeitzler@cityofbatavia.net

Ward 4
Susan Stark
sstark@cityofbatavia.net

Anthony Malay
amalay@cityofbatavia.net

Ward 5
Lucy Thelin-Atac
lthelina@cityofbatavia.net

Mark Uher
muher@cityofbatavia.net

Ward 6
Michael Russotto
mrussotto@cityofbatavia.net

Nicholas P. Cerone
ncerone@cityofbatavia.net

Ward 7
David J. Brown
dbrown@cityofbatavia.net

Drew McFadden
dmcfadden@cityofbatavia.net

Batavia Township
131 Flinn Dr., Ste. B, Batavia
www.bataviatownship.com
(630) 879-1392
Hours: 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., Monday through Friday

Supervisor
James R. Anderson
supervisor@bataviatownship.com

Clerk
Howard R. Katz
supervisor@bataviatownship.com

Assessor
TammyJ. Kavanaugh
tkavanaugh@bataviatownship.com
Assessor’s Office: (630) 879-1323
(8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday- Friday)

Highway Commissioner
Christopher R. Long
clong@bataviatownship.com
Information: (630) 879-5515
(6:30 a.m. to 3 p.m., Monday-Friday)

General Assistance Case Worker
Layla Brown
lbrown@bataviatownship.com
Office: (630) 879-1392
(8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday-Thursday)

Township Trustees
trustee@bataviatownship.com
Vicki Mitchell, Brian Singer, Leigh Tracy, John West, Walter Donat

GENEVA TOWNSHIP
(630) 232-3600
400 Wheeler Dr., Geneva
www.GenevaTownship.com

State Government

Illinois State Representatives

Mike Fortner
49th District Office
135 Fremont St.
West Chicago, IL 60185
(630) 293-9344

Keith Wheeler
50th District Office
959 Oak St.
North Aurora, IL 60542
(630) 345-3464

Illinois State Senator
Jim Oberweiss
25th District Office
959 Oak St.
North Aurora, IL 60542
(630) 800-1992

Illinois Congressman
Randy Hultgren
14th Congressional District Office
1797 W. State St., Ste. A
Geneva, IL 60134
(630) 232-7104