City of Marion

The City of Marion is a commission-based form of local government. Voters elect four commissioners and a mayor in four-year terms. As a group, all five are responsible for city management and general functions. Individually, each commissioner is assigned executive responsibility for a specific department. The following were elected to the 2019 city council: Mayor Michael W. Absher and City Commissioners Doug Patton, Jim Webb, John Stoecklin and John Barwick. Marion City Hall hosts council meetings every other Monday at 6:30 p.m.

Marion is home to a robust list of retail stores, restaurants and entertainment opportunities. Marion leads Southern Illinois in areas of economic development, population growth, establishing TIF and enterprise zones and developing the STAR Bond District. Furthermore, Marion is one of the most economical places to live in Southern Illinois because the city levies zero property taxes on its residents.

Marion is nicknamed “The Hub of the Universe” because of its location at the crossroads of Illinois Route 13 and Interstate 57. With access to Interstate 24 just to the south, Marion is also a point of access to major cities like Chicago, Nashville and St. Louis. In addition to the Interstate system, the Veteran’s Airport of Southern Illinois provides commercial air transportation to both Nashville and St. Louis along with private service.

Williamson County

The City of Marion is the county seat of Williamson County. In 2010, Williamson County had a population of 66,357. Williamson County is the largest county in Southern Illinois and continues to see growth. The county is situated conveniently by Interstate 57, Route 13 and Interstate 24, a midpoint in the region, often referred to as an area called Little Egypt. The county is home to several lakes, a large community college and many smaller villages and cities. The Veterans Airport of Southern Illinois on Route 13, just three miles west of Interstate 57, provides access to the area for those who commute by air. With daily flights to and from St. Louis and Nashville via Cape Air, the airport offers residents and visitors another added value to living in or visiting the region.

County Board of Commissioners

Williamson County is one of 17 Illinois counties that operate under the commission form of government. Under the commission form, the county is governed by a three-person Board of Commissioners. Commissioners are elected at-large to six-year terms. One commissioner is elected at each general election in November of even-numbered years.

The Williamson County Board of Commissioners meets once a month. Regular meetings are held the second Tuesday of the month at 10 a.m. Special meetings may be held from time to time with at least 48 hours advance notice. Meetings are held at the Williamson County Administrative Building, 407 N. Monroe, Marion, in the second-floor boardroom. Meetings are open to the public and public comment is a part of the agenda at each regular meeting.

Williamson County Courthouse
200 W. Jefferson St. | Marion
(618) 997-1301

Williamson County
Administrative Building
407 N. Monroe St. | Marion