Township Government

The Township of Old Bridge operates under a strong mayor/council form of government. The mayor is directly elected by the voters to serve a four-year term. The nine members of the township council are elected by the voters to serve staggered four-year terms. Of the nine members, six represent specific wards and three are designated “at-large” members.

The township council generally meets on the second and fourth Monday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Municipal Complex. The public is invited to participate in the council meetings, which are also broadcast live on the local cable station Channel 15 (Old Bridge Television).

A number of municipal departments offer residents and businesses a full array of public services, including code enforcement, community development (engineering, planning and zoning), economic development, health and senior services, parks and facilities, recreation programs, public safety (police protection and emergency management) and public works (roads, recycling and snow removal).

In addition to the municipal departments, there are a number of volunteer boards, committees, and commissions that address a variety of issues, including cultural arts, planning and zoning, historic preservation, recreation, environmental and many others.

For additional information on township services and volunteer opportunities, visit