Share this Page

Monroeville was once the home of the Creek Indians, where the land was clashed over by France, Spain and England. In 1815, the Creek Indians surrendered the land at the Treaty of Fort Jackson and the county was created by proclamation of the governor of the Mississippi Territory. The county was once about one-third of the size of present-day Alabama and is often referred to as the “Mother County.”

Monroeville, named Monroe County’s seat of government in 1832, was incorporated in 1899. Both Monroeville and Monroe County were named in honor of U.S. President James Monroe.

While visiting Monroeville, make sure to partake in a historic walking tour or participate in the town’s 10 K Volkswalk sponsored by the Monroeville/Monroe County Chamber of Commerce. Visitors can access a guided walking tour by contacting the Chamber.

Famous historic sites throughout the county include the Masonic Hall at Perdue Hill (circa 1823 and visited by the Marquis De Lafayette), Burnt Corn (the site of the outbreak of the Creek Indian War of 1814), Rikard’s Mill (a restored gristmill and park north of Beatrice), the old railroad town of Peterman, and many other historic towns and neighborhoods.